## Region School Unit 70 /MSAD #70 Board of Directors School Board Meeting Minutes April 27, 2021

The Region School Unit 70 /MSAD #70 Board of Directors held a regular board meeting on Tuesday, April 27, 2021 at the Hodgdon Middle/High School Gym. School Board Chair, Ronald Silliboy, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

<u>Members Present</u>: Matthew Day, Jared Hand, David Harris, Curtis Harrison, Edward McGillicuddy, Tim Moore, Clarissa Porter, Ronald Silliboy, Lynn Tuck, David Wells Cheryl Welton

Members Absent: John Austin

Members Excused: Mark Ganzel

Also Present: Stephen Fitzpatrick and Lori Lenentine

<u>Staff Present</u>: Susan Hawkes, Bernadette Willette, Matthew Oliver, Lisa Wilson, Sandy Flacke, Diane Jurson, Suzette Belyea, Renee Smith, Tyler Putnam, Scott Walker, Danielle Fitzpatrick, Stacy Ramsey, Wendy Spellman, Rhonda Foster, Sarah Baillargeon, Jill Hyman, Julie Peters, Melanie Drew, Carmen Kimball, Kevin Kimball

Audience Present: Clare Desrosiers, Alex MacDougal, Angela Howland

# **Agenda Order and Adjustments:**

**Public Comment:** Clare Desrosiers and Diane Jurson asked about Transgender policies and educational plans.

Presentations: none

### **Information Items:**

- 1. Financials
- 2. Retirement Jim Ritchie & Kevin Kimball
- 3. Covid Interventionist Catharine Estabrook
- 4. Meetings
  - a. Policy Committee met on April 7th at 6 p.m., next meeting Wednesday, May 5th at 6 p.m.
- 5. Policy ADF School District Commitment to Learning Results Reviewed with no changes

# **Action Items:**

Approve first reading of Policy ADC-R - Tobacco Use and Possession Administrative Procedure

It was moved Curtis Harrison and seconded by Matthew Day to approve the first reading of Policy ADC-R – Tobacco Use and Possession Administrative Procedure

Motion Passes Unanimously

Approve second reading of Policies ADA – School District Goals and Objectives, ADAA – School System Commitment to Standard for Ethical and Responsible Behavior, and ADC – Tobacco Use and Possession

It was moved by David Wells and seconded by Curtis Harrison to approve second reading of Policies ADA – School District Goals and Objectives, ADAA – School System Commitment to Standard for Ethical and Responsible Behavior, and ADC – Tobacco Use and Possession

Motion Passes Anonymously

Approve Coaching Candidate - Robert Smith for Middle School Baseball and Varsity Girls Soccer

It was moved by Jared Hand and seconded by Tim Moore to approve Coaching Candidate – Robert Smith for Middle School Baseball and Varsity Girls Soccer

Motion Passes Unanimously

Approve Coaching Candidate - Samantha Quint for Middle School Softball

It was moved by Tim Moore and seconded by Jared Hand to approve Coaching Candidate – Samantha Quint for Middle School Softball

Motion Passes Unanimously

#### Approve Two Year contract for Guidance Director Bernadette Willette

It was moved by Edward McGillicuddy and seconded by Tim Moore to approve a two-year contract for Guidance Director Bernadette Willette

Motion Passes Unanimously

## Approve Two Year contract for Assistant Principal/Acting Principal Tyler Putnam

It was moved by Edward McGillicuddy and seconded by Curtis Harrison to approve a two-year contract for Assistant Principal/Acting Principal Tyler Putnam

Motion Passes Unanimously

#### Approve Two Year contract for Special Services Director – Julia (Sandy) Flacke

It was moved by David Harris and seconded by Tim Moore to approve a two-year contract for Special Services Director Julia (Sandy) Flacke

Motion Passes with a vote of 10 yes and 1 no

#### Approve Two Year contract for Assistant Special Services Director Jolayne Mathers

It was moved by Tim Moore and seconded by Cheryl Welton to approve a two-year contract for Assistant Special Services Director Jolayne Mathers

Motion Passes Unanimously

#### Approve Two Year contract for Principal Matthew Oliver

It was moved by Edward McGillicuddy and seconded by Curtis Harrison to approve a two-year contract for Principal Matthew Oliver

Motion Passes Unanimously

# Approve First Year Probationary teachers to Second Year probationary contracts – Rebecca Griffin, Tiffany Cumming, and Makala Swallow

It was moved by Cheryl Welton and seconded by Tim Moore to approve first year probationary teachers to second year probationary contracts - Rebecca Griffin, Tiffany Cumming, and Makala Swallow

Motion Passes Unanimously

# Approve Second Year Probationary teachers to Continuing contracts – Sarah Baillargeon, Danielle Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Flint, Samantha Quint, Haley Saucier, and Wendy Spellman

It was moved by Tim Moore and seconded by Jared Hand to approve second Year Probationary teachers to continuing contracts – Sarah Baillargeon, Danielle Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Flint, Samantha Quint, Haley Saucier, and Wendy Spellman

Motion Passes Unanimously

# Approve Third Year Probationary teacher to Continuing contract - Lacy McQuarrie

It was moved by Tim Moore and seconded by Cheryl Welton to approve third year probationary teacher to continuing contract – Lacy McQuarrie

#### Approve School Year 2021-2022 budget

It was moved Edward McGillicuddy and seconded by Tim Moore to approve school year 2021 - 2022 budget

Motion Passes Unanimously

Regular Meeting Adjourned: 7:50 p.m.

Executive Sessions: 1 M.R.S.A. § 405 (6)(E) and 1 M.R.S.A. § 405(6)(A)

Entered: 7:57 p.m.

Approve extending the meeting beyond 9:00 p.m.

It was moved by Curtis Harrison and seconded by Cheryl Welton to extend meeting beyond 9:00 p.m.

Exited: 9:21 p.m.

Denying grievance in Executive Session and adopt the reasons presented in the Superintendent's letter to the Association as its rationale.

It was moved by David Harris and seconded by Tim Moore to Denying grievance in Executive Session and adopt the reasons presented in the Superintendent's letter to the Association as its rationale.

Motion Passes by a vote of 10 yes and 1 no

Meeting adjourned 9:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephen Fitzpatrick Superintendent